Winson, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Winson, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winson, Gloucestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Northleach PLU
Registration District Northleach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577; For more records see Bibury
Bishop's Transcripts: 1740
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fairford
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Bibury
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINSON, a chapelry, in the parish of Bibury,union of Northleach, hundred of Bradley, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 5 miles (N. W.) from Fairford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Winson, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[2]
Winson, Gloucestershire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FHSO 1801-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288765.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 618-620. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:30.
  • This page has been accessed 661 times.