Winterbourne, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Winterbourne, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langley and Swinehead
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Clifton PLU
Registration District Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINTERBOURNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Clifton, Upper division of the hundred of Langley and Swine head, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 6 miles (N. E. by N.) from Bristol. This parish is situated on the road from Bristol to Oxford, and watered by the small river Frome. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WINTERBOURNE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1673-1860 1673-1860
BOYD
1600-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 620-622. Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.

Winterbourne Family History Online is hosted by Frenchay Village Museam. Follow the link below.

www.frenchaymuseumarchives.co.uk/NewArchives.htm

Once there by clicking on the "Archive" tab you will be taken to the key page for all the research data available on the web site. Listed in the archive is transcribed Parish Register Records for St Michael, Winterbourne Down All Saints, Frenchay St.John the Baptist and Frampton Cotterell St. Peter's covering the years 1600-2002 for Baptisms, Marriages and Burials.. Also available are Census records from 1841-1901 as well as quite a bit of history about Winterbourne.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,407 times.