Winthorpe, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Winthorpe, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Winthorpe All+Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
|Poor Law Union||Newark PLU|
|Parish registers: 1687|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
WINTHORPE (All Saints), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 1¾ mile (N. N. E.) from Newark. The Fosse-road passes through the parish. 
Winthorpe All Saints is an Ancient parish 2miles north east of Newark on Trent.
The Church of All Saints has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
See also Winthorpe Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Winthorpe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WINTHORPE PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Winthorpe All Saints Baptisms 1687-1944 Marriages 1695-1900 Burials 1697-1992 Bishop's Transcripts 1610-1842
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Winthorpe
Winthorpe. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1756, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/36 and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, pages 34-35, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 01:37.
- This page has been accessed 1,334 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News