Withington, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Withington, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Withington, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxash
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hereford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WITHINGTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of Broxash, union and county of Hereford, 4½ miles (E. N. E.) from Hereford. It is intersected by the road from Bromyard to Hereford, and by a branch of the river Froome: the Gloucester and Hereford canal was opened to Withington, in Feb. 1844. The Baptists have a place of worship; and there is a charitv school for girls with a small endowment. [1]

Withington is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire.

The 12th century Parish Church of St Peter has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Herefordshire Churches

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census returns for Withington 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Withington/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-636. Accessed and adapted 10 July, 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 September 2014, at 16:30.
  • This page has been accessed 636 times.