Withington, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Withington, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Withington, Shropshire
St John the Baptist Withington Shropshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham PLU
Registration District Atcham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591
Bishop's Transcripts: 1631
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wellington
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Withington St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Shropshire, created in 1738 from chapelry in Upton Magna, Shropshire Ancient Parish. WITHINGTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Atcham, Wellington division of the hundred of South Bradford, N. division of Salop, 6¼ miles (E.) from Shrewsbury; containing 219 inhabitants, and comprising about 1100 acres. The Shrewsbury canal passes through. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £80; patron and appropriator, the Rector of Upton Magna: there is a parsonage-house, and the glebe contains 35 acres. The church is a plain brick edifice, with a very ancient chancel.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Withington like this:

WITHINGTON, a parish in Atcham district, Salop; on the Shrewsbury canal, 1¾ mile NE of Upton-Magna r. station, and 5¾ E of Shrewsbury. Post town, Upton-Magna, under Shrewsbury. Acres, 1,135. Real property, £1,998. Pop., 232. Houses, 50. The manor belongs to A. W. Corbet, Esq. The living is a p. curacy annexed to Upton-Magna. The church is decayed.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Withington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
WITHINGTON PARISH (1591) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1592-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1591-1812
1591-1812
1591-1812
IGI 1591-1868 1592-1836
JOIN
1592-1812

MLOC 1591-1812
1591-1812
1591-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1631-1868 Marr 1631-1836 Bur 1631-1868

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474582.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Withington/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-636. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51419 Date accessed: 15 May 2011.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 15:51.
  • This page has been accessed 818 times.