Withycombe Raleigh with Exmouth All Saints, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Withycombe Raleigh with Exmouth All Saints, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Withycombe Raleigh with Exmouth All Saints, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Budleigh
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas PLU
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WITHYCOMBE - RAWLEIGH, a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of East Budleigh, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon with part of the town of Exmouth. It is bounded on the west by the river Exe. A portion of the church was taken down about 1745, and a new edifice erected about half a mile from Exmouth.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Withycombe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Withycombe Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1601-1708

IGI 1562-1812 1562-1708

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241304.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-636. Date accessed: 06 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2014, at 20:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,157 times.