Withyham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes  

Withyham, Sussex
St Michael & All Angels Withyham Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartfield
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Grinstead PLU
Registration District East Grinstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WITHYHAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of East Grinstead, hundred of Hartfield, rape of Pevensey, East division of Sussex, nine miles (E. S. E.) from East Grinstead includes Buckhurst and New Groombridge. A chapel of ease was dedicated to St. John.[1]

The church dates from at least the late thirteenth century; there is record of the rebuilding in the fourteenth century to construct the Sackville chapel. In 1672 the rebuilt church replaced the church which was destroyed by a lightning strike so powerful that the bells were melted, but it was not until 1680 that the Sackville Chapel was replaced.

Vita Sackville West Memorial Withyham Sussex.jpg

The church contains a memorial to the poet Vita Sackville-West within the Sackville family chapel.

Withyham is a small village although the the ecclesiastical and civil parish is large and includes part of the northern Ashdown Forest.  The hamlet of Buckhurst includes Buckhurst Park home of Earl De La Warr who maintains the Sackville family presence in the Parish. New Groombridge is with the parish and county; Old Groombridge is in the modern Speldhurst District of Kent.

A history of the church can be found at Sussex Parish Churches Withyham St Michael and All Angels

Withyham St John is also known as Crowborough St John the Evangelist.

See also a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia for New Groombridge churches of St Thomas the Apostle and former Methodist Chapel now the Church of St Pius V Groombridge.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Withyham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Withyham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1661-1891, 1893
1663-1881

IGI 1606-1641, 1881-1885 1606-1891
SOPC Undefined
Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Withyham

Groombridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Groombridge Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1627-1648, 1764-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

Poor Law Unions

East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted 21 May 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013. Described as 'Withyham,' 'Crowborough St John,' and 'Withyham St Michael.'
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,242 times.