Witton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Witton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Witton, Cheshire
200px
St Helens witton
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561; Separate registers exist for Northwich Holy Trinity beginning 1842 and for Castle Northwich beginning 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WITTON, is a township and parochial chapelry, in the parish of Great Budworth, union of Northwich, South division of the county of Chester, ¼ of a mile (E.) from Northwich. The chapelry lies partly in Eddisbury hundred, and partly in that of Northwich. In the former are the townships of Castle-Northwich, Hartford, and Winnington; in the latter, those of Witton-cum-Twambrooke, Northwich, Birches, Hulse, Lach-Dennis, and Lostock Gralam.[1]

Witton, St. Helen was an ancient chapelry in Great Budworth parish, originally serving the townships of Birches, Castle Northwich, Hartford (part), Hulse, Lach Dennis, Lostock Gralam, Northwich, Winnington and Witton cum Twambrooks.

The church was originally a chapel of ease to St Mary and All Saints, Great Budworth and the area was then known as Witton. The present building dates from the 14th century, with additions in the 15th, 16th and 19th centuries. A tradition that Witton had a chapel as early as the 13th century cannot be verified, but by the mid-14th century a church (technically a chapel of ease) stood on the present site.

Gradually this evolved into the church as it is today. North and south aisles, narrower than those currently present, were added in the 15th century. The present porch however is certainly no earlier than 1500 and possibly much later: an inscription on its beam commemorates a substantial repair in 1756.

The aisles were rebuilt and widened between 1536 and 1549, bringing what had been a side chapel (now the Lady Chapel) into the body of the church. The chancel was embattled soon after 1624, when Thomas Farmer, the master of Witton Grammar School left money for the purpose in his will.

Although there have since been further changes to the interior (including the addition of screens at the east end of the aisles and new coloured glass windows), by the 1890s the church looked much as it does today. It formally became a parish church when "the District Chapelry of St Helen Witton, otherwise Northwich", came into being on 7 August 1900.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241248.

Church Records

Witton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry)- (£) [2]
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Witton Parish 1723 Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Images Images
BIVRI 1846-1855, 1861-1862, 1887-1888, 1891-1893, 1897


FS PR's 1561-1909 NONE 1561-1915 NONE 1561-1978 NONE
FS BT's 1597-1897 NONE 1597-1837 NONE 1598-1897 NONE

Castle Northwich parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CASTLE NORTHWICH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1888-1906


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Witton-cum-Twambrooks, 1561-1973 Chester Record Office call number: P53/1/1-6, 2/1-10, P53/4690/1-4, P53/3/1-4, 8/1-2, 4/1-11, P53/4690/5-20, P53/5/1-2, 6/1-9, P53/7/1-3. Witton-cum-Twambrooks was a chapelry in Great Budworth parish. An index for Cheshire Parish Records can be found in FamilySearch Historical Records.

The Family History Library (FHL) has copies of the following records.

Content Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1561-1751. 2094290 Items 2-6
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1752-1767. Baptisms, Jan. 1768-26 May 1856. 2094296
Baptisms, 4 May 1856-25 June 1903. 2094297
Baptisms, 25 June 1903-14 Dec. 1958. 2094416
Baptisms (auxiliary registers), 3 Jan. 1813-5 Jan. 1861. Baptisms (draft auxiliary registers), 2 Jan. 1835-1 Dec. 1846. Marriages, 25 Jan. 1754-2 May 1770. 2094417
Marriages, 3 May 1770-24 Dec. 1877 2094517
Marriages, 25 Dec. 1877-30 May 1915 2094518
Marriages, 24 May 1915-17 Feb. 1942 2094519
Marriage banns, 7 Apr. 1754-31 Jan. 1773, 17 Aug. 1783-30 July 1786, 8 Oct. 1865-13 Dec. 1868.
Marriages, 14 Feb. 1942-12 Aug. 1961.
2094520
Burials, 1 Jan. 1768-28 Dec. 1873. 2094521
Burials, 3 Jan. 1874-9 Feb. 1960. 2094522
Burials, 9 Jan. 1960-3 Jan. 1973. Auxiliary burials, Jan. 1813-Jan. 1862. Draft auxiliary burials, Jan. 1835-Dec. 1846. Registers of graves, 1871-1880 (to no. 497). 2103771
Registers of graves, 1880-1927 (from no. 486). 2103772 Items 1-2

Witton (Northwich)- St Helen
Baptism Index-1813-1851- 929.342715 No2
Baptisms-1561-1767- MFPR 427
Baptisms-1768-1858- MFPR 430
Baptisms-1858-1903- MFPR 431
Baptisms Auxiliary-1813-1862- MFPR 432
Burials-1561-1767- MFPR 427
Burials-1768-1873- MFPR 433
Burials-1874-1912- MFPR 434
Burials Aux.-1813-1862- MFPR 435
Marriage Index-1754-1792- 929.342715 No1
Marriage Index-1792-1851- 929.342715 No1
Marriage Index-1837-1857- 929.342715 No2
Marriages-1561-1754- MFPR 427
Marriages-1754-1837- MFPR 428
Marriages-1837-1895- MFPR 429

For original registers of above please enquire at Cheshire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Bishop's transcripts for Witton-cum-Twambrooks, 1597-1893 Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office number: EDB/225

An index of Cheshire Bishop's transcripts may be found in Family Search Historical Records.

Content Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1597, 1600, 1616-1618, 1621-1624, 1628-1630, 1634-1636, 1640-1641, 1658-1659, 1661-1677, 1679-1686, 1690-1739, 1741-1758. 1850181
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1758-1768, 1770-1794. 1850182
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1799-1802, 1813-1829. 1850183
Marriages 1830-1837. Burials, 1827. Baptisms, burials, 1830-1846. 1850240 Item 2
Baptisms, burials, 1846-1861. Burials, 1886-1892, 1897. Baptisms, 1888, 1891-1893, 1897. 1850241
Non-Conformist Churches

Refer to Northwich, Cheshire to see relevant churches and chapels.

Cheshire Record Office Document Reference EMC 13

  • NORTHWICH METHODIST CIRCUIT Date 1793-1999
  • Description SUPERINTENDENT MINISTER Registers of baptisms MISCELLANEA CIRCUIT MEETING SECRETARY Minutes of quarterly and half yearly meetings General Purposes Committee minutes Property Committee minutes Returns of members
  • CIRCUIT STEWARDS Circuit Steward Accounts Preachers Travelling Fund Accounts Minutes Plans Accounts Circuit Schedules Circuit Property Schedules
  • LOCAL PREACHERS' MEETING SECRETARY Minutes
  • CIRCUIT PLAN SECRETARY Circuit plans
  • YOUTH COUNCIL Minutes MISCELLANEA NORTHWICH BOURNE CIRCUIT
  • CIRCUIT STEWARDS Accounts Circuit reports and schedules
  • SUPERINTENDENT MINISTER Membership register
  • CIRCUIT MEETING SECRETARY Quarterly meeting and circuit committee minutes
  • OVERSEERS MISSIONS CIRCUIT COMMITTEE LOCAL PREACHERS' MEETING SECRETARY Minutes
  • MISCELLANEA CIRCUIT PLAN SECRETARY Circuit plans
  • NORTHWICH UNITED METHODIST (CENTRAL) CIRCUIT CIRCUIT MEETING SECRETARY WOMEN'S FELLOWSHIP Accounts Miscellanea

Northwich Wesleyan Methodist Circuit was formed in 1792, and following Methodist Union in 1932 was designated Northwich London Road Circuit. In 1935 London Road Circuit amalgamated with Central (former United Methodist) circuit to form Northwich (London Road and Central) circuit. In 1956 the Winsford section of this circuit was transferred to Winsford Methodist Circuit, and the remainder amalgamated with Northwich Bourne (former Primitive Methodist) circuit to form Northwich Methodist Circuit. URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-emc13&cid=0

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The <a href="England Civil Registration">civil registration</a> article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration District
  • Northwich

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Witton on GENUKI

Bibliography

  • Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Work of Art, London: Batsford, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0
  • Harries, M.; Lynch, C. (1981), An illustrated history of the Northwich Parish and Church, Northwich: St Helen Witton Church, ISBN 0950764809
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, ISBN 1871731232

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, &amp;amp;lt;i&amp;amp;gt;&amp;amp;lt;a href="http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51420#s6" _fcksavedurl="http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51420#s6"&amp;amp;gt;A Topographical Dictionary of England&amp;amp;lt;/a&amp;amp;gt;&amp;amp;lt;/i&amp;amp;gt; (1848). Date Accessed: 19 April 2013
  2. " British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 22:17.
  • This page has been accessed 5,204 times.