Wiveton with Glandford, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Wiveton with Glandford, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wiveton with Glandford, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holt
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham; Walsingham PLU
Registration District Walsingham; Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holt
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WIVETON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Walsingham, hundred of Holt, W. division of Norfolk, ½ a mile (W. by S.) from Cley. [1] Wiveton is part of the Glaven Valley as is Blakeney, Cley-next-Sea, Glandford and Letheringsett.[2] Note that Glandford didn't become part of Wiveton's jurisdiction until 1922, so see also Glandford St Martin, Norfolk. Also, Glandford came under the jurisdiction of  Letheringsett in 2001.


Wiveton St Mary is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich. Starting in 1922 the ancient parish of Glandford St Martin, Norfolk was included with Wiveton.

In the early days Wiveton was a busy port.[3]

1652 - Wiveton Hall built by John Giffard, and remained in the family to current times.[4]

1740 - "A causeway and wooden footbridge were constructed between Cley and Wiveton."[5]

1816 - Drawing by J S Cotman created showing Blakeney Church and Wiveton Hall, before the trees grew up. The original is in Leeds Art Gallery. "A note made at the time of Cotman's drawing said that French prisoners-of-war were living at Wiveton Hall. Wiveton Hall is not listed as a prison campe at any time;  but they probably were an outpost of an official camp. It has long been understood that many of the flint walls in Wiveton vilage were built by French prisoners-of-war."[6]

Resources

If you live in Norfolk or near Blakeney then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access online records at FamilySearch and other sites mentioned on this page. Additional records (microfilm and online) can be viewed at Family History Centers.   Refer to Wiveton and Norfolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Walsingham 1837-1938
  • Fakenham 1939-1974

The Register Office, Fakenham Connect, Oak Street, Fakenham, NR21 9SR.
Tel: 01328 850111. E-mail: registration.fakenham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

Wiveton with Glandford, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[11]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[12]
Wiveton with Glandford, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1897
1558-1900
1558-1900
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1906
JOIN
1813-1836

TIN 1813-1880

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 648

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Wiveton.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Walsingham/Walsingham.shtml

Walsingham Union was incorporated under the terms of the 1834 Act, and the union workhouse was built at Great Snoring, but not completed until 1838. The Walsingham Union Workhouse at Great Snoring was opened in 1838. It was situated close to the boundary between the parishes of Great Snoring and Thursford and was sometimes known as Thursford Workhouse. Poor Law Unions were abolished in 1930 and the responsibilities of Walsingham Union Board of Guardians were taken over by Norfolk County Council Guardians' Committee No. 7. From 1930 the former Workhouse became known as Walsingham Public Assistance Institution. On 26 and 27 June 1934 the remaining thirty inmates (including two infants but no children) were transferred to West Beckham and Gressenhall Institutions and Walsingham Institution officially closed on 30 June 1934. The building was subsequently adapted for use as a smallpox hospital. By 1976 the building was derelict and was demolished in the early 1990s.
Acquisition Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 26 February 1982 (C/GP 19/192-198) and on unknown dates.

Copies C/GP19/1-6, 131, 133-135, 137, 141, 143-146, 148, 150-151, 173-181 are on microfilm.
RelatedMaterial For records of Guardians Committee No. 7 (including the administration of Red House Children's Home in Little Snoring and the boarding-out of children), see C/GC 7. See Public Assistance Sub-Committee minutes, 11 July 1934 and 12 September 1934, C/C 10/455. The records of the County Architect's Department include plans of the alterations for use as a smallpox hospital dated February 1937, see C/AR 1/29-31. The one inch to one mile Ordnance Survey Map of 1954 designates the building 'smallpox hospital'.

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Manorial Records

  • Manorial Records of London, Suffolk, Norfolk and Essex. Contains copies and abstracts of various records relating to manors and lands of Sir Henry Calthorpe. Includes the following manors and lands: Stiffkey, Wiveton, Blakeney, etc. FHL British FIlm 1471770 item 28.

Manor History -

1651 - Wiveton Manor estate sold to John Giffard who would build the present Wiveton Hall in 1652/1653[13]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 639-643. Date accessed:12 August 2013.
  2. Detrick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Historical Jottings, booklet (Blakeney, England : 1989) Page 4-5.
  3. Detrick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Historical Jottings, booklet (Blakeney, England : 1989) Page 4-5.
  4. Derick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Further Historical Jottings (Blakeney, England : Glaven Valley Churches Aid, 1994) Pg 16
  5. Derick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Further Historical Jottings (Blakeney, England : Glaven Valley Churches Aid, 1994) Pg 16
  6. Derick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Further Historical Jottings (Blakeney, England : Glaven Valley Churches Aid, 1994) Pg 16.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  8. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  9. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  10. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  11. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  12. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
  13. Derick Mellor, The Glaven Valley: Further Historical Jottings (Blakeney, England : Glaven Valley Churches Aid, 1994) Pg 12-13.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 23:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,004 times.