Wolfe County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Wolfe County

Guide to Wolfe County Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Wolfe County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Wolfe County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 5, 1860
County Seat Campton
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Wolfe Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Wolfe County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Wolfe County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Deeds
Wills
1860
1860
1860
1870
1860
1885
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Wolfe County Courthouse
PO Box 400
Campton, KY 41301-0400
Phone: 606.668.3771[1]

Wolfe County Kentucky History

Parent County

1860--Wolfe County was created 5 March 1860 from Breathitt, Morgan, Owsley and Powell Counties.
County seat: Campton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1886, 1915--Disasters destroyed most of the records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Wolfe County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Antioch El Park Leeco Rosefork
Balleyfield Gillmore Lexie Standing Rock
Baptist Glencairn Lower Gillmore Stillwater
Belknap Grannie Malaga Toliver
Bethany Hazel Green Mary Torrent
Booth Helechawa Mullins Point Trent
Burkhart High Falls Nelson Upper Gillmore
Campton Hollonville Pence Valeria
Chamber Fork Landsaw Pine Ridge Vortex
Daysboro Lee City Rogers Zachariah

Neighboring Counties

Wolfe County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kywolfe.png

African American

The following have information concerning African American research. 

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Kentucky Historical Society Cemetery Search can be searched by name, place and/or date.  This database has hundreds of thousands of names transcribed from gravestones across Kentucky. 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 3,603
1880 5,638 56.5%
1890 7,180 27.4%
1900 8,764 22.1%
1910 9,864 12.6%
1920 8,783 −11.0%
1930 8,425 −4.1%
1940 9,997 18.7%
1950 7,615 −23.8%
1960 6,534 −14.2%
1970 5,669 −13.2%
1980 6,698 18.2%
1990 6,503 −2.9%
2000 7,065 8.6%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Wolfe County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wolfe County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Wolfe County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wolfe County, Kentucky:

- 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company E.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wolfe County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Wolfe County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Wolfe County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.


Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Wolfe County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Wolfe County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1861 - Wolfe County Birth Index 1861. Batch C518081 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874 - Wolfe County Birth Index 1874. Batch C518082 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Wolfe County Birth Index 1875. Batch C518083 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1861 - Wolfe County Marriage Index 1861. Batch M518081 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Wolfe County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M518084 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1877 - Wolfe County Marriage Index 1876-1877. Batch M518085 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted

Wolfe County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Wolfe County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Wolfe County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wolfe County, Kentucky page 275, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 11,541 times.