Wolstanton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Wolstanton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wolstanton, Staffordshire
Wolstanton St Margaret Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolstanton and Burslem PLU
Registration District Wolstanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle under Lyme
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOLSTANTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Wolstanton and Burslem, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford. There are several dissenters' places of worship. [1]

Other places in the parish include: Branscliff, Wedgwood, Briershurst, Brieryhurst, Chatterley, Chatterly, Dales Green, Great Chell, Greenfield, Harrisea Head, Kidsgrove, Knutton, Little Chell, Oldcott, Ranscliff, Sandyford, Stadmoreslow, Stadmorslow, Thursfield, Wainlee, and Brerehurst.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Wolstanton St Margaret was an extensive Ancient Parish which formed subsequent ecclesiatical parishes

Wolstanton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
WOLSTANTON ST MARGARET PARISH (1624) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1628-1905
1849-1857


FMP 1628-1901 1628-1901 1628-1901 1628-1901 1628-1901 1628-1901
FREG 1624-1824
1624-1837
1624-1905
FS 1624-1769, 1813-1875
1624-1825, 1828-1837


PALL

1790-1812


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1628-1966 Mar 1628-1953 Bur 1628-1952 early registers include some BT's
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1881 Mar 1662-1837 (missing marriages 1826-1827) Bur 1662-1881


Non-Conformist Churches

Kidsgrove Central Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  KIDSGROVE CENTRAL METHODIST CHAPEL (1891) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1891-1920






Kidsgrove Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  KIDSGROVE WESLYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1842) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1842-1920






Kidsgrove Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  SANDYFORD WESLYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1871) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1871-1945





Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474622.

Poor Law Unions

Wolstanton and Burslem Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Wolstanton/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 643-649. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 September 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,003 times.