Wolverhampton St Mark, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Wolverhampton St Mark, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wolverhampton St Mark, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone; North Seisdon; South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolverhampton PLU
Registration District Penkridge; Walsall; Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wolverhampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Wolverhampton; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wolverhampton St Mark is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1846 from Wolverhampton St Peter, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Wolverhampton St Mark include: Irvingite/Catholic Apostolic Church, Presbyterian Church in England, and Wesleyan Methodist. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Wolverhampton, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, and Society of Friends/Quaker.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Wolverhampton St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
WOLVERHAMPTON ST MARK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1849-1875
1849-1875


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474627.

Poor Law Unions

Wolverhampton Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 September 2013.
  3. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:02.
  • This page has been accessed 626 times.