Wolverhampton St Peter, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Wolverhampton St Peter, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wolverhampton St Peter, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone; North Seisdon; South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolverhampton PLU
Registration District Penkridge; Walsall; Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603; Separate registers exist for Willenhall St Giles beginning 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799; Separate records exist for Willenhall St Giles beginning 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wolverhampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Wolverhampton; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOLVERHAMPTON(St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union; comprising the borough of Wolverhampton,and the market-town of Bilston, in the N. division of the hundred of Seisdon; the townships of Featherstone, Hatherton, Hilton, and Kinvaston, in the E. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone; and Bentley, Pelsall, Wednesfield, and Willenhall,in the S. division of the hundred of Offlow; S. division of the county of Stafford. On the 15th of March, 1848, the township was divided into eight wards, namely, St. Peter's, St. Mary's, St. James',St. Matthew's, St. George's, St. John's, St. Paul's, and St. Mark's. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Methodists of the New Connexion, Unitarians, Irvingites,and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Wolverhampton St Peter was large geographical Ancient Parish and formed many subsequent district and chapelry creations.

Wolverhampton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
WOLV = Wolverhampton History - free[8]
WOLVERHAMPTON ST PETER PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1603-1875 1603-1875 1603-1860 1603-1860 1603-1862 1603-1862
FREG 1542-1875
1538-1875
1542-1803, 1813-1862
FS 1542-1660, 1799-1812
1538-1734, 1799-1812

JOIN
1538-1838

NBI

1539-1935
WOLV 1538-1875
1538-1837
1538-1937

The earliest register Bap.Mar, Bur from 1538 is lost

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1603-1949 Mar 1603-1754, 1757-1948 (1754-1756 marriages are still with the incumbent at the church) Bur 1603-1862
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1799-1833 Mar 1813-1833 Bur 1799-1833

Wolverhampton St Peter and St Paul Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOLVERHAMPTON ST PETER AND ST PAUL ROMAN CATHOLIC Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1788-1830
1784-1828
NBI

1714-1835

Wolverhampton St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOLVERHAMPTON ST JOHN PARISH (1680) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1840-1875
1838-1875
1839-1992
NBI

1680-1837
WOLV 1840-1875

1838-1992

Wolverhampton St Jude parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOLVERHAMPTON ST JUDE PARISH (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1869-1875
1869-1875

WOLV 1869-1875


Wolverhampton St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOLVERHAMPTON ST ANDREW PARISH (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1871-1896 1871-1896
FREG 1870-1875
1872-1875

WOLV 1870-1875


Wolverhampton St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOLVERHAMPTON ST LUKE PARISH (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1861-1876 1862-1876

FMP 1897-1901 1897-1901 1877-1901 1877-1901
FREG 1861-1875
1862-1875

FS
1862-1876

WOLV 1861-1875


Non-Conformist Churches

Wolverhampton Presbyterian parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOLVERHAMPTON PRESBYTERIAN Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1651-1831

Wolverhampton Temple Street Independent registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOLVERHAMPTON TEMPLE STREET INDEPENDENT (1782) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1782-1880
NBI

1784-1799


George St Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  GEORGE ST METHODIST (1825) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1825-1837






Queen St Independent registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

QUEEN ST INDEPENDENT (1785) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1785-1836






Compton Road Wesleyan registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

 COMPTON ROAD WESLEYAN (1863) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1793-1903

1864-1911




Darlington St Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  DARLINGTON ST METHODIST CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1793-1856






Dudley Rd Bethel Primitive Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  DUDLEY RD BETHEL PRIMITIVE METHODIST (1851) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1851-1903






Fallings Park United Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FALLINGS PARK UNITED METHODIST (1882) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1882-1903






Cross Street Primitive Methodist (Heath Town) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CROSS STREET PRIMITIVE METHODIST (HEATH TOWN) (1875) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1875-1903






Heath Town Wesleyan Wolverhampton Rd registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

 HEATH TOWN WESLEYAN WOLVERHAMPTON ROAD (1848) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1848-1903






Darlington Hickman St Primitive Methodist aka Hadleys Chapel Wednesfield registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  DARLINGTON HICKMAN ST PRIMITIVE METHODIST AKA HADLEYS CHAPEL WEDNESFIELD (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1846-1903






Horsley Fields, Zion Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  HORSLEY FIELDS, ZION METHODIST (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1858-1903

1899-1906





John St Presbyterian registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  JOHN ST PRESBYTERIAN (1726) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1726-1815






Lanesfield Wesleyan registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  LANESFIELD WESLEYAN (1850) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1850-1903






Lord Street Primitive Zion registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  LORD STREET PRIMITIVE ZION (1862) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1862-1903






Monmore Green Primitive Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  MONMORE GREEN PRIMITIVE METHODIST (1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1847-1903






Moseley Hole Primitive Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  MOSELEY HOLE PRIMITIVE METHODIST (1790) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1855






Ranelagh Road Wesleyan registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  RANELAGH ROAD WESLEYAN (1849) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1849-1893

1894-1902




Snow Hill Unitarian registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  SNOW HILL UNITARIAN (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1830-1838






Wolverhampton Springfields Wesleyan Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  WOLVERHAMPTON SPRINGFIELDS WESLEYAN METHODIST (1878) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1878-1886






Trinity Methodist Wednesfield High Street registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  TRINITY METHODIST WEDNESFIELD HIGH STREET (1853) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1853-1903






Walsall St Baptist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  WALSALL STREET BAPTIST (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1832-1837







Waterloo Road Trinity Reformed registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  WATERLOO ROAD TRINITY REFORMED (1880) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1880-1903

1881-1883





Wood End Primitive Methodist Wood End Rd Wednesfield registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  WOOD END PRIMITIVE METHODIST WOOD END RD WEDNESFIELD (1860) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1860-1903






Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474627.

Monumental Inscriptions

St Peter's Monumental Inscriptions; prepared in 1936.

Poor Law Unions

Wolverhampton Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Wolverhampton/StPeter/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 643-649. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  8. 'Parish Register Indexes', The History of Wolverhampton: The City and Its People, accessed 20 August 2014.
  9. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,017 times.