Womenswold, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Womenswold, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Womenswold, Kent
Womenswold St Margaret Kent.jpg
Womenswold St Margaret Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wingham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1577
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1547 - Court of the Exempt Jurisdiction of Wingham; Post-1546 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Womenswold is a village and civil parish in the Canterbury district of Kent Womenswold Wikipedia Womenswold is about 7 miles south east of the City of Canterbury and one mile east of the A2.

Womenswold St Margaret of Antioch is the Ancient Parish church of Womenswold (sometimes spelt Wymynswold or Wimlingswold) and includes the small hamlet settlements of Womenswold, Woolage Village and Woolage Green. A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you The parish is part of a united group of parishes Barham, Kent Bishopsbourne, Kent and Kingston, Kent

The church of St Margaret, The Street, Womenswold is 13th century in origin and has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 262-266. Date accessed: 2 December 2013.

at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Womenswold, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
Womenswold, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1574-1911 1574-1911 1578-1928; 1754-1925 (Banns) 1578-1928; 1754-1925 (Banns) 1574-1812 1574-1812
IGI 1574-1812 1574-1837
PALL
1790-1837

Land Tax

Images for Womenswould are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306865.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant hips and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. [1]

Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WOMENSWOULD (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Wingham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 6½ miles (S. E.) from Canterbury. [7]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 649-652. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,319 times.