Womersley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Womersley

Guide to Womersley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Womersley, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Osgoldcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Preston Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Hemsworth; Pontefract
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Womersley St Martin is an Ancient Parish which included Criding Stubbs, Cridling Park, Cridling Stubbs, Walden Stubbs, Little Smeaton near Pontefract, Stubbs, Stubbs Cridling, and Little Smeaton in the parish boundary. Womersley is a village in the Selby District of North Yorkshire near the town of Doncaster Womersley Wikipedia
Womersley (St. Martin)

WOMERSLEY (St. Martin), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Cridling-Stubbs, Little Smeaton, and Walden-Stubbs, 921 inhabitants, of whom 392 are in Womersley township, 5 miles (E. S. E.) from Pontefract.[1]


The Church of St Martin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Little Smeaton is a village in the Selby District Little Smeaton Selby Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Womersley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
WOMERSLEY PARISH (1718) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910
FS 1730-1865

1718-1866, 1882



JOIN None
1813-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Womersley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Womersley page.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1584.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464266.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 649-652. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,633 times.