Wooburn, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wooburn, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wycombe PLU|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
WOOBURN (St. Paul), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Wycombe, hundred of Desborough, county of Buckingham, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Beaconsfield.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Wooburn, Buckinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Wooburn, Buckinghamshire Online Records|
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodis
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241210.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Wooburn on GENUKI
- ↑ Lewis,Samuel A., A Topgraphical Dictionary of England and Wales (1848) Date Accessed: 22 April 2014.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
- ↑ 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 16:02.
- This page has been accessed 546 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki