Wood Dalling, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Wood Dalling, Norfolk
St Andrew, Wood Dalling, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOOD-DALLING (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (N. by W.) from Reepham. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have each a place of worship. [1]

Wood Dalling St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

In the Domesday Book Dallinga denotes a settlement lying in a dale or valley and to distinguish it from other dallings the word Wood was added.

The church is 14th century in the present building with the large tower added in the 15th century.

Wood Dalling is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is situated some 20 kilometres (12 mi) east of Fakenham, 20 km (12 mi) south-west of Cromer, and 30 km (19 mi) north-west of Norwich.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of Broadland.

Includes or also known as Tyby. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Wood Dalling, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[9]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[10]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[11]
WOOD DALLING PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1653-1877
1653-1901
1653-1912
FREG 1813-1880
1791-1878
1815-1885
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1653-1877 Undefined 1653-1902 Undefined 1653-1912
IGI 1653-1812 1653-1811
JOIN
1813-1836

NBI

1749-1888
PRTS 1813-1860
1813-1836
1813-1888
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office PD 367

Parish registers Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 1 Baptisms, marriages, burials 1653-1748 Item 2 Baptisms and burials 1749-1812 Marriages 1748-1753 Item 3 Baptisms 1813-1877 Item 4 Marriages and banns 1754-1811 Item 5 Marriages 1813-1836 Item 6 Marriages 1837-1901 Item 7 Burials 1813-1912 Item 8 Banns 1824-1879 Item 9 Banns 1879-1902 FHL BRITISH Film 1596458 Items 1-9

Archdeacons transcripts Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1601-1608, 1623-1633, 1666-1812 Marriages 1601-1608, 1629-1633, 1666-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526783 Item 6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.




Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.652-654. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. Pat Newby, "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes", GenUKI
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014. Described as 'South Wood St Edmund' also 'Wood Dalling St Andrew.' Are these two separate places?
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  9. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.
  11. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2014, at 23:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,329 times.