Wood Norton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Wood Norton, Norfolk
Wood Norton All Saints Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1722
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOOD-NORTON, a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 7 miles (N. W.) from Reepham; with united rectories of All Saints and St. Peter. [1]

Wood Norton All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The original Blue Stocking, Benjamin Stillingfleet was born here where his father Edward Stillingfleet was rector.

Wood Norton is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is located some 10 km (6.2 mi) east of Fakenham and 30 km (19 mi) north-west of Norwich.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of North Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wood Norton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Wood Norton, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1999
1600-1999
1600-1999
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1722-1920 Undefined 1722-1878 Undefined 1722-1811
JOIN
1814-1836

NBI

1601-1999
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office Parish Records of Wood Norton and the united benefice of Wood Norton and Swanton Novers reference PD 407

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 19 Baptisms and burials 1722-1796 Marriages 1723-1754 Item 20 Baptisms and burials 1796-1813 Item 21 Baptisms 1813-1920 Item 22 Marriages 1754-1793 Item 23 Banns 1754-1793 Item 24 Marriages 1794-1812 Banns 1794-1825, 1845-1878 Item 25 Marriages 1814-1836 FHL BRITISH Film 1596159 Items 19-25

Archdeacons transcripts Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms 1600-1610, 1628-1633, 1666-1812 Marriages 1600-1610, 1628-1633, 1666-1811 Burials 1601-1610, 1628-1633, 1666-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526783 Item 7

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.



Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 03:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,019 times.