Woodbury County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Woodbury County, Iowa)

United States Gotoarrow.pngIowaGotoarrow.png Woodbury County

Guide to Woodbury County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Historic Orpheum Theater in Sioux City, Woodbury CO., Iowa


Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records



Woodbury County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Woodbury County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Sioux City
Courthouse
Address Woodbury County Courthouse
620 Douglas St.
Sioux City, IA 51101
Phone: 712-279-6601
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Woodbury County Courthouse
620 Douglas St.
Sioux City, IA 51101
Phone: 712-279-6601

History

Woodbury County was created when the legislature passed an act organizing the county in 1853. The County was named in honor of Levi Woodbury former Governor of New Hampshire, US Secretary of the Treasury and Supreme Court Justice.

Parent County

1851--Woodbury County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was originally named Wahkaw, but changed to Woodbury 22 January 1853. It was organized 7 March 1853.  County seat: Sioux City [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Neighboring Counties

Cherokee • Crawford • Ida • Monona • Plymouth • Dakota County, Nebraska • Thurston County, Nebraska • Union County, South Dakota

Woodbury CountyIda CountyCrawford CountyMonona CountyPlymouth CountyCherokee CountyBuena Vista CountySac CountyCarroll CountyAudubon CountyShelby CountyHarrison CountySioux CountyO'Brien CountyClay CountyClay CountyUnion CountyDixon CountyDakota CountyThurston CountyBurt CountyCuming CountyWayne CountyCedar CountyIAWoodbury.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Arlington Cemetery
  • Banner Cemetery
  • Calvary Cemetery
  • Concordia Cemetery
  • Correctionville Cemetery
  • Cushing Cemetery
  • Danbury Cemetery
  • Eberly Cemetery
  • Fairfield Cemetery
  • Floyd Cemetery
  • Good Hope Cemetery
  • Graceland Park Cem.
  • Greenwood Cemetery
  • Hollister Cemetery
  • Liberty Township Cemetery
  • Logan Park Cemetery
  • Lucky Valley Cemetery
  • Memorial Park Cemetery
  • Mount Carmel Cemetery
  • Oak Hill Cemetery
  • Oto Cemetery
  • Peiro-Bethel Cemetery or Bethel Cemetery
  • Saint Josephs Cemetery
  • Saint Marys Cemetery
  • Saint Patricks Cemetery
  • Sloan Cemetery
  • Smithland Cemetery
  • Walnut Grove Cemetery
  • War Eagle Grave
  • Willow Cemetery
  • Woodbury Township Cemetery

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Sioux City

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Sioux City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Skien Lutheran Church, Sloan

  • Records of the Skien Lutheran Church, Sloan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Directories

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Woodbury County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • The History of Woodbury County, Iowa. By the Woodbury County Genealogical Society. Dallas, Texas : National ShareGraphics, c1984. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Woodbury - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Research Center

Sioux City Public Museum

607 4th Street

Sioux City, Iowa 51101-

Phone: 1-712-224-5001

Holdings: Grand Army of the Republic personal war sketches; Sioux City directories, 1871-2009; over 600 oral histories, 1978-1981; the thousand of photos and more.

Template:Http://www.siouxcitymuseum.org/researchy-archives/research-information

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 04:03.
  • This page has been accessed 8,639 times.