Woodchurch, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Woodchurch, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Woodchurch, Kent
Woodchurch All+Saints Kent.jpg
Woodchurch All+Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackbourne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tenterden PLU
Registration District Tenterden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1565
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Woodchurch is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent Woodchurch Kent Wikipedia

Woodchurch is an Ancient Parish in Kent, in the Lympne deanery of the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.

The Parish church of All Saints, Rectory Close, Woodchurch has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 226-237 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

The Wesleyan Methodist Church at Woodchurch no longer has worship services Woodchurch Methodist Church but was part of the South Kent Methodist Circuit South Kent Methodist Circuit

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Tenterden registration district Tenterden Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House

(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woodchurch, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[7]
Woodchurch, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1611-1851
1538-1944; 1754-1824 (Banns)

FREG 1538-1911
1538-1978
1538-1990
FS PRs 1852-1900 1824-1900 (banns)
IGI 1797-1836
MIDK 1754-1911

Land Tax

Images for Woodchurch are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Woodchurch 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tenterden Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WOODCHURCH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tenterden, hundred of Blackbourne, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W. division of Kent, 4 miles (E. by N.) from Tenterden. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists. [8]

Web sites

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  8. Lewis,Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-654. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,369 times.