Woodford Grange, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Woodford Grange, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodford Grange, Staffordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Seisdon PLU
Registration District Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOODFORD-GRANGE, an extra-parochial liberty, in the S. division of the hundred of Seisdon and of the county of Stafford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

None this is an extra parochial area see England Jurisdictions 1851 for surrounding parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Poor Law Unions

Seisdon Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-654. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 16:23.
  • This page has been accessed 416 times.