Woodhead, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Woodhead

Guide to Woodhead, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

WOODHEAD, a chapelry, and a division of the township of Tintwistle, in the parish of Mottram-in Longdendale, union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, 6 miles (E. N. E.) from the village or town of Mottram. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

Woodhead St James was a chapelry created in the Parish of Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire. It became a parish in 1724.

Standing almost eight hundred feet up at the head of the Longdendale Valley, with fewer than forty people living within a four mile radius this must be one of the most desolate chapels in the country. It may already be well over 500 years old, since 1487 is usually given as its foundation date.

Local rumour suggests that the fifteenth century building - probably wooden - was at Robin-i-Meers, about three quarters of a mile further up the valley by the River Etherow; the dedication seems to have changed from the Blessed Virgin to St. James some time later, which might imply a new building.

The churchyard is notable for the burial of navvies involved in the construction of the Woodhead Railway Tunnel (1845) to connect Manchester and Sheffield by railway. 

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church records

Woodhead St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Woodhead St James Parish (1781) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1781-1909
  NONE
1854-1933
  NONE
1782-1980
  NONE
FS BT'S 1816-1867
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1816-1867
  NONE

Mottram-in-Longdendale, St. Michael (Church of England). The ancient parish church for Tintwistle.
Woodhead, St. James (Church of England).

A chapel to Mottram founded in 1724, becoming a parish church in 1856. Registers of Baptisms 1780–1981, Marriages 1856–1960 and Burials 1782–1992 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office
Tintwistle, Christ Church (Church of England). Founded 1836 as the parish church for Hollingworth and Tintwistle. Registers of Baptisms 1837–1882, Marriages 1839–1949 and Burials 1837–1893 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office
Micklehurst, All Saints (Church of England). Church Lane, Mossley. Founded 1895 as a chapel to Millbrook, becoming a parish church in 1962. Registers of Marriages 1900–1939 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Registers of Baptisms from 1895 are held at the church (no burials).

Parish registers of Woodhead, Cheshire, 1780-1992 Woodhead is a chapelry in Mottram-in-Longendale parish.
Cheshire Record Office call numbers.: P76/1, P76/4875/1, P76/4875/2, P25/2826/40, P76/4875/3, P76/3276/1.

Parish register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1780-1981. Marriages, 1856-1960. Marriage banns, 1854-1921. Burials, 1780-1992. Register of graves, 1877-1899. Index 1780-1812. BRITISH 2105693 Items 9 - 14
Burials, 1845-1864,1867. Baptisms, 1846-1867. 1647762 Item 1.

Woodhead- St James
Baptisms-1780-1812- MFPR 526
Burials-1780-1812- MFPR 526

For original registers of above please enquire at Cheshire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Earlier Bishop's Transcripts for Mottram in Longdendale may also contain events.

Bishop's transcripts for Woodhead, 1816-1867 Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester.
Formerly a chapelry in Mottram-in-Longendale parish.
Cheshire Record Office Call number: EDB 228

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms & burials, 1816-1845. 1647761 Item 6.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Calvinistic Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •   Ashton under Lyne (1837–1937)
  •  Hyde (1937–74)
  •  High Peak (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 19 April 2013

Chapel images

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,803 times.