Woodland, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Woodland, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodland, Lancashire
St John the Evangelist Church, Woodland Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1745
Bishop's Transcripts: 1836
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WOODLAND (St John the Evangelist), a chapelry, in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth, union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 8¼ miles north by northwest from Ulverston, and includes Heathwaite. The chapel was built in 1689, and repaired in 1822. The modern Parish is in the Diocese of Carlisle and was formerly in the Furness and Cartmel denary of the Diocese of Chester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Woodland chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WOODLAND WITH HEATHWAITE Chapelry (1735) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  None
LOPC None None None
FMP  None None None
KIRKBY IRELETH ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1681) Indexes (ancient parish containing WOODLAND Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1697-1812 None  None
LOPC 1791-1838 1790-1838 1790-1838
FMP  None 1728-1837 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Woodland and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRKBY IRELETH ST CUTHBERT PARISH page.


Woodland- St John the Evangelist
Baptisms Transcript-1735-1837- 929.342781 Fu(717)
Burials Transcript-1748-1748- 929.342781 Fu(717)

For original registers of above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers, 1748-1904 Microfilm of original manuscripts in the Cumbria Record Office, Kendal.
Record contains baptisms, 1748-1904, marriages, 1876-1901.
The chapelry of Woodland and Heathwaite is in the parish of Kirkby-Ireleth.
Cumbria Record Office no.: BPR/9/I1-3

Content
Film
Parish registers
FHL BRITISH Film
1471921 Items 23-25

Bishop's transcripts for Kirkby-Ireleth, 1727-1882 Microfilm of original records in the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Includes records of Woodland, part of Woodland and Heathwaite Chapelry.

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials 1727-1749, 1754-1838, 1855-1882; baptisms (Woodland) 1836-1882.
FHL BRITISH Film
1040307 Items 2 - 4


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306915.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-657. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,716 times.