Woodnesborough, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Woodnesborough, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodnesborough, Kent
Woodnesborough St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Woodnesborough St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eastry
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Woodnesborough is a village and civil parihs in the Dover district of Kent, two miles west of Sandwich, see Woodnesborough Wikipedia

Woodnesborough St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; the church dates from about 1200 and was restored in later centuirs including the 1888 restoration by Christian.A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you and the modern parish is part of the united benefice of Woodnesborough with Worth, Kent and Staple, Kent

The church is designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage. British Listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 121-144 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woodnesborough, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Woodnesborough, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1561-1912 1561-1912 1754-1927 (Banns) 1754-1927 (Banns) 1561-1917 1561-1917

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Woodnesborough are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306865.



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

WOODNESBOROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Eastry, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (W. S. W.) from Sandwich. [4]

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,928 times.