Woodruff County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Woodruff County

Guide to Woodruff County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Woodruff County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Woodruff County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 26, 1862
County Seat Augusta
Courthouse
Woodruff County Arkansas Courthouse.jpg
Address Woodruff County Courthouse
500 North 3rd Street
Augusta, AR 72006-0356
Phone: 870.347.5206

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1865; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Woodruff County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1865 1914* 1865 1851 1865
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records.

History

Parent County

  • 1862--Woodruff County was created 26 November 1862 from Jackson and St. Francis Counties.

County seat: Augusta [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cross  • Jackson  • Monroe  • Prairie  • St. Francis  • White  •

Woodruff CountySt. Francis CountyLee CountyMonroe CountyCross CountyPrairie CountyPhillips CountyWhite CountyPoinsett CountyIndependence CountyCleburne CountyJackson CountyLonoke CountyARWoodruff.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Biographies

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Woodruff County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Woodruff County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Woodruff County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Woodruff County, Arkansas:


- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company D
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Woodruff County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Woodruff County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1861-1935 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1866-1887; Administration, executor and guardian bonds 1861-1903; Dockets 1876-1896; Letters of guardianship 1862-1904; Probate record index 1861-1899; Probate records 1861-1899; Wills 1862-1935.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1873-1937 - Woodruff County Birth Index 1873-1937. Batch C750786 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
Death
  • 1894-1899 - Woodruff County Death Index 1894-1899. Batch B750788 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Woodruff County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Woodruff County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Woodruff County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Woodruff County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Woodruff County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 71.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 17:41.
  • This page has been accessed 6,226 times.