Wookey, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Parishes

Wookey, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wells-Forum
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wells PLU
Registration District Wells
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Axbridge
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Wookey
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOOKEY (St. Matthew), a parish, in the union of Wells, hundred of Wells-Forum, E. division of Somerset, 1¾ mile (W.) from Wells; containing, with the tything of Yarley, and part of Wookey-Hole.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wookey, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Wookey, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1565-1902
1565-1900
1565-1891
NBI

1681-1843
SOPC 1565-1812
1565-1758
1558-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 03 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  4. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 17:32.
  • This page has been accessed 973 times.