Woolavington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Woolavington, Sussex
East Lavington St Peter West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1668
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOOLAVINGTON, a parish in Midhurst district, Sussex; nominally two and one-half miles SSW of Petworth railway station, but partly adjoining Midhurst, and comprising several portions at considerable distances from one another . It has a post-office, of the name of Lavington, under Petworth.[1]

The church has a small sepulchral chapel attached. Here are places of worship for Wesleyans; and a national school.[2]

The redundant Anglican church of East Lavington St Peter, also known as Seaford College Chapel is an Ancient Parish in the Chichester District of West Sussex. The Church has become the chapel to Seaford College which owns the 400 acres associated with East Lavington House

A history of the church East Lavington

The Parish church of St Peter the Drive East Lavington has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Woolavington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also East Lavington Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Woolavington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
Woolavington, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1897 (gaps)


IGI 1571-1937 1571-1875
PRTS 1571-1902
1571-1901
1571-1895
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing film numbers in their collection Woolavington

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius WilsonImperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 23 may 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 661-663. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  6. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 915 times.