Woolbeding, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Woolbeding, Sussex
Woolbeding All Hallows West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easebourne
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOOLBEDING, a parish, in the union and borough of Midhurst, hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, West division of Sussex, one and one-half mile North West from Midhurst. The parish is intersected by the river Rother. The church is in a very sequestered spot; in the chancel window is some ancient stained glass, from the priory of Mottesfont, in Hampshire.[1]

A history of the church Woolbeding All Hallows

The Parish church of Woolbeding All Hallows had been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Woolbeding Sussex online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Woolbeding Wikipedia]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Woolbeding, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Woolbeding, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1654-1753

IGI 1571-1876 1556-1875
SOPC Undefined
Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Woolbeding

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 23 May 2013.
  2. Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,481 times.