Woolwich St Mary, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Woolwich St Mary, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woolwich St Mary, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Woolwich Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Greenwich PLU
Registration District Greenwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Woolwich St Mary is an Ancient Parish historically in North West Kent and within the Greater London boundary. Woolwich remained part of Kent until 1889 when the County of London was created Woolwich Wikipedia

It is also known as the church of St Mary Magdalene [and was established by at least the year 1670, and re-]built in 1727 by an unknown architect and Deptford builder Matthew Spray. The church has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage Listed Building

See North West Kent Family History Society and Woolwich St Mary Magdalene

Within this Ancient Parish were formed:

Holy Trinity: Rope Walk / Beresford Square. see List of Commissioners Churches in London Wikipedia Built 1833 as Trinity Episcopal Chapel; chapel of ease 1850, closed 1960 & demolished 1962; parish created 1881 from Woolwich St. Mary, abolished 1953.

St John the Evangelist: Wellington St. built 1845, demolished 1948; separate parish created 1869 from Woolwich St Mary, abolished 1939.. Original registers from 1869.
St Michael & All Angels: Borgard Road built 1875; parish created 1879 from Woolwich St Mary.

Here is 'A Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches in Woolwich St Mary Magdalen Parish'. Historically, these chapelries and churches were attached to and jurisdictionally a part of the ancient parish of St Mary Magdalen.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Woolwich St Mary, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry[1][2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Woolwich St Mary, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1753 1670-1753 1670-1812 1670-1812
AC 1813-1906 1813-1906 1754-1921 1754-1921 1813-1938 (gaps) 1813-1938 (gaps)
FREG 1813-1815


IGI 1813-1847, 1867-1875 1813-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306883.

Poor Law Unions

Gotoarrow.png See Greenwich Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

WOOLWICH (St. Mary Magdalene), a markettown and parish, in the union of Greenwich, hundred of Blackheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 8 miles (E. by S.) from London. [7]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Mary Magdalene, Woolwich in Greenwich Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  2. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Woolwich St Mary Magdalene in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Woolwich St Mary Magdalene in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Woolwich St Mary Magdalene in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 663-670.Date accessed: 08 May 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:55.
  • This page has been accessed 3,616 times.