Wootton, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Wootton, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Wootton, Kent
Wooton St Martin Kent.jpg
Wooton St Martin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinghamford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wootton is a village and part of the civil parish of Denton with Wootton in the Dover district of Kent,see Wootton Kent Wikipedia

Wooton St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury in the Elham, Kent with Denton and Wooton united benefice. A history of the church is available at the benefice website Denton and Wootton

The Church of St Martin, Wootton Lane, Wooton has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 364-373 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wootton, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
Wootton, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1546-1812 1546-1812 1546-1839; 1754-1804 (Banns) 1546-1839; 1754-1804 (Banns) 1566-1811 1566-1811

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306865.




Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WOOTTON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Dovor, hundred of Kinghamford, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 9½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Canterbury. [5]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 670-673. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
Kent

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:57.
  • This page has been accessed 2,280 times.