Worle, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Worle, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Worle, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winterstoke
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Axbridge PLU
Registration District Axbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Axbridge
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WORLE (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Axbridge, hundred of Winterstoke, E. division of Somerset, 8 miles (N. W.) from Axbridge; There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Worle, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Worle, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN
1755-1837

MARR
1590-1754

NBI

1598-1925

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474608.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Worle/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 09 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 August 2014, at 21:08.
  • This page has been accessed 903 times.