Worlingworth, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Worlingworth

Parish History

WORLINGWORTH, a large and well-built village, pleasantly situated near the source of a rivulet, 5 miles N.W. of Framlingham, and 6 1/2 miles N.E. by E. of Debenham, has in its parish 786 souls, and 2446a. 2r. 6p. ot fertile land. The large common here was enclosed in 1831-2, and from the luxuriant growth of the hedges and plantations, it can now scarcely be distinguished from the old enclosures. Lord Henniker is lord of the manor, and owner of about half of the soil; and the remainder belongs to Sir R. S. Adair, T. W. F. V. Wentworth, Esq., and several smaller owners. It is mostly free, and partly copyhold. Worlingworth Hall, now occupied by a farmer, was the seat of Sir John Major, Bart., who died in 1781, and whose son-in-law, John Henniker, Esq., succeeded to his estates, and was created a peer by the title of Lord, Henniker, as already noticed at page 346, with Thornham Magna, where the present Lord Henniker has his seat. Bishop Alfric gave the lordship of Worlingworth, and the advowson of the church, to Bury Abbey ; and they were granted, in the 31st of Henry VIII., to Anthony Rous. The Church' (St. Mary) is a neat fabric, with a tower and six bells, and contains a beautiful Gothic font, which once adorned the abbey church at Bury.....   William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk; page 478-479


Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Worlingworth and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Worlingworth was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.  While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.

Church records

Worlingworth, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Worlingworth, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1804-1837
BOYD
1558-1754

NBI

1558-1900

The Parish Registers begin in 1558.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1558 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are considerable for Worlingworth.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Worlingworth from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Worlingworth Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Worlingworth was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National gazetteers provide a brief description of each place

Websites

References

  1. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  4. Lewis,Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.

Worlingworth Local History Group


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,359 times.