Wormshill, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Wormshill, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Wormshill, Kent
Wormshill St Giles Kent.jpg
Wormshill St Giles Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hollingbourne PLU
Registration District Hollingbourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1700
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wormshill is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone district of Kent Wormshill Wikipedia

Wormshill St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

The Church of St Giles, The Street, Wormshill has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See alsoKent Archaeological Societyand Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 561-565 at British History Online and Kent Churches website.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Hollingbourne registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate center at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wormshill, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
Wormshill, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1754-1837

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Family History Library film numbers
Wormshill

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Land Tax

Images for Wormshill are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832



Census records

Census returns for Wormshill 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901


Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant hips and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Find my Past 1911 census search


Poor Law Unions

Hollingbourne Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WORMSHILL (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Hollingbourne, hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 5 miles (S. S. W.) from Sittingbourne. [2]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,147 times.