Wormsley, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Wormsley, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wormsley, Herefordshire
Wormsley St Mary Herefordshire.jpg
Wormsley St Mary Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grimsworth
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Weobley PLU
Registration District Weobly
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WORMSLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Weobley, hundred of Grtmsworth, county of Hereford, 3½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Weobley; containing 109 inhabitants, and consisting of 1180 acres. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of Sir W. R. Boughton, Bart., and others. Thomas Andrew Knight, Esq., the celebrated horticulturist, was a native of this place. [1]

Wormsley St Mary is an Ancient Parish. Wormsley is part of the Brinsop and Wormsley civil parish in Herefordshire.

The church of St Mary, Wormsley has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The redundant church of St Mary is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.

See Wormsley St Mary Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district

Certificates may be obtained from
Herefordshire
The Register Office
Town Hall
St. Owens Street
Hereford
HR1 1RJ
Phone 01432 260565

Fax 01432 261720

Email registrars@herefordshire.gov.uk

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Herefordshire Archives Harold Street Hereford HR1 2QX England Tel: 01432 260750 Fax: 01432 260066 Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk Website: here

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wormsley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288817.

See Herefordshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Weobley Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Wormsley/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 673-687. Accessed and adapted 16 July, 2013.


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 698 times.