Worsley, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Worsley, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Worsley, Lancashire
Worsley St Mark Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Barton upon Irwell PLU
Registration District Barton upon Irwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1826
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccles
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

WORSLEY, a township, in the parish of Eccles,hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 7miles (W. by N.) from Manchester, on the road to Leighand Wigan.The Wesleyans have a small place of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Worsley chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Eccles to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WORSLEY ST MARK Chapelry (1843) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS  1849-1894 1849-1935 None
LOPC  1846-1922  1849-1918  None
AC None None None
ECCLES ST MARY PARISH (1563) Indexes (ancient parish containing WORSLEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials 
FS 1564-1632 1564-1632 None
LOPC 1819-1848  1565-1873 1810-1842
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
FMP None 1565-1758 None
AC 1563-1666 1563-1666 1563-1663
FREG 1564-1632 1564-1632 1563-1632


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Worsley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Eccles to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ECCLES ST MARY PARISH page.


Worsley- St Mark

Transcripts of baptisms 1846-1900 and marriages 1849-1903 available on-line at Lancashire Online Parish Clerk website.

Baptisms-1846-1848- MFPR 2213 or 2240
Baptisms-1848-1947- MFPR 2213
Baptisms-1947-1966- Archives L118
Marriages-1849-1950- MFPR 2114-2115
Marriages-1950-1992- Archives L118

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Parish registers for St. Mark's, Worsley, 1846-1950 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L 118/1/1/1-2; L 118/1/2/1-6.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1846-1936. Marriages, 1849-Dec. 1903.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356127 Items 3 - 6
Marriages, Dec. 1903-1950. Book of graves, 1846-1861.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356128

Eccles, Lancashire Bishop's Transcripts contain

Bishop's transcripts for Eccles, 1613-1864 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Bishop's transcripts from the parish of Eccles and the chapelries of St. Thomas' (Pendleton), St. Peter's (Swinton), Ellenbrook, St. Paul's (Walkden Moor), St. John's (Pendlebury), St. Catherine's (Barton-upon-Irwell) and St. Mark's (Worsley).
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/82-108


Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1844-1850 of Eccles; and also the chapelries of Pendleton, Swinton, Walkden Moor, Barton-upon-Irwell, Ellenbrook, and St. Mark's in Worsley (from 1846)
FHL BRITISH Film
1545552


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306927.


Poor Law Unions

Barton upon Irwell Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 687-692. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  3. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,910 times.