Worth, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Worth, Sussex
St Nicholas Worth Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Grinstead PLU
Registration District East Grinstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Crawley Down beginning 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; Separate records exist for Crawley Down beginning 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling; Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WORTH, a parish, in the poor-law union of East Grinstead, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, East division of Sussex, two miles East South East from Crawley.
The London and Brighton railway passes through the parish. Worth St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish and was one of the largest parishes in West Sussex until later ecclesiastical parish creations within the ancient parish boundaries. It included Tilgate Forest, South Malling-Lindfield Manor, Crawley Down, Burleigh Arches Manor, Clarkes Manor, and Old House Warren. There are places of worship for dissenters.[1]

The surviving Saxon church which is Grade 1 listed is believed to have been built between 950-1050 AD and was subsequently restored in successive centuries. A tower was added in the 1870's and after a fire in 1986 the present roof and restoration was completed in 1988.Church history Worth St Nicholas

Worth Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship in Worth include

Christ Church, Pound Hill
Maidenbower Baptist Church
St Barnabas, Pound Hill
St Edward the Confessor, Pound Hill
Worth Abbey Church

Turners Hill St Leonard was created from this parish, Turner's Hill Sussex Online Parish Clerks Online (OPC) Turner's Hill St Leonard Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship in Turner's Hill include

Turner's Hill Countess of Huntington's Chapel Countess of Huntington's Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also Worth Wikipedia Turners Hill West Sussex Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Mid Sussex Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Worth, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Worth, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1558-1876 1559-1876
PRTS 1558-1900
1559-1901
1558-1901
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901

Poor Law Unions

East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation records

1552
  • 1552 Lay Subsidy, Worth Parish, Buttinghill Hundred, Sussex. Original at TNA[5]; microfilm copy at FHL[6].

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted 23 May 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
  5. E179/190/247 rot 14
  6. FHL BRITISH Film 2228740.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 July 2014, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,410 times.