Worth County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Worth County

Guide to Worth County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Worth County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Worth County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Northwood
Courthouse
Worth County Iowa Courthouse.jpg

Contents

County Courthouse

History

Named for Major General William Jenkins Worth ((March 1, 1794 – May 7, 1849), an officer in both the Black Hawk War and the Mexican-American War.[1]Worth county has fertile farmland, used mainly for producing grains, corn and soybeans. Wind turbines dot the landscape along the beautiful rolling prairie that comes to rest near the Shell Rock River.

Parent County

1851--Worth County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Fayette, Chickasaw, and Mitchell Counties prior to organization 13 October 1857. County seat:  Northwood [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cerro Gordo • Hancock • Mitchell • Winnebago • Freeborn County, Minnesota • Mower County, Minnesota

Worth CountyMitchell CountyFloyd CountyCerro Gordo CountyHancock CountyWinnebago CountyHoward CountyChickasaw CountyBremer CountyButler CountyFranklin CountyWright CountyHumboldt CountyKossuth CountyFaribault CountyFreeborn CountyMower CountyBlue Earth CountyWaseca CountySteele CountyDodge CountyOlmsted CountyIAWorth.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Beaver Creek Lutheran Cemetery
  • Benjegerdes Family Plot
  • Bethel Cemetery
  • Birdsal Family Plot
  • Bristol Protestant Cemetery
  • Brush Point Cemetery
  • Brystol Farm Cemetery
  • Chapel Hill Cemetery
  • Concordia Cemetery
  • Dahlside Cemetery
  • Overholt Family Plot
  • Rugland Family Plot
  • Sacred Heart Cemetery
  • Saint Patricks Cemetery
  • Schmidt Cemetery
  • Seater Family Plot
  • Silver Lake Cemetery
  • Sion Cemetery
  • Slosson Cemetery (historical)
  • Somber Cemetery
  • South Shell Rock Cemetery
  • South Silver Lake Cemetery
  • Stateline Cemetery
  • Sunset Rest Cemetery
  • Towne Cemetery
  • Trebilcock Family Plot
  • Wise Cemetery

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Northwood

  • Records of the First Lutheran Church, Northwood, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Worth County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Worth County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Worth County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Worth County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Worth - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records 

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Wikipedia article on William J. Worth
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 17:36.
  • This page has been accessed 4,677 times.