Wright County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Wright County

Guide to Wright County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Wright County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Wright County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Clarion
Courthouse
Address Wright County Courthouse
115 North Main Street
Clarion, IA 50525
Wright County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

The Wright County Courthouse
115 North Main Street
Clarion, IA 50525

History

Parent County

1851--Wright County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Boone and Webster Counties prior to organization 1 October 1855.  County seat: Clarion [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cerro Gordo • Franklin • Hamilton • Hancock • Hardin • Humboldt • Kossuth • Webster

Wright CountyFranklin CountyHardin CountyHamilton CountyWebster CountyHumboldt CountyKossuth CountyHancock CountyCerro Gordo CountyFloyd CountyButler CountyGrundy CountyMarshall CountyStory CountyBoone CountyGreene CountyCalhoun CountyPocahontas CountyPalo Alto CountyEmmet CountyWinnebago CountyWorth CountyMitchell CountyIAWright.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Amish Cemetery (historical)
  • Belmond Cemetery
  • Calvary Cemetery
  • Eagle Grove Township Cemetery (historical)
  • Elmwood Cemetery
  • Evergreen Cemetery
  • Fairview Cemetery
  • French Church Cemetery
  • Galt Cemetery
  • Goldfield Cemetery
  • Graceland Cemetery
  • Hickory Grove Cemetery
  • Holmes Cemetery
  • Immanuel Reformed Cemetery
  • Norway Township Cemetery
  • Ringsaker Cemetery
  • Rose Hill Cemetery
  • Saint Francis Cemetery
  • Saint Johns Cemetery
  • Saint Josephs Cemetery
  • Saint Pauls Lutheran Cemetery
  • Schwenck Family Plot (historical)
  • Simenson Family Plot
  • Troy Cemetery
  • Woolstock Cemetery
  • Wright City Christian Reform Cemetery
  • Wright County Burying Grounds

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran

Samuel Lutheran Church, Eagle Grove

  • Records of the Samuel Lutheran Church, Eagle Grove, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Wright County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Wright County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wright County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Biographies

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Wright County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wright County, Iowa:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K
- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wright County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Wright - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records 

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. History of Wright County Iowa, It's People, Industries and Institutions; Hon. B.P. Bridsall, B.P. Bowen Co., Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana, 1915, 1061 pages.
  3. History of Wright County Iowa, It's People, Industries and Institutions; Hon. B.P. Bridsall, B.P. Bowen Co., Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana, 1915, 1061 pages.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 17:38.
  • This page has been accessed 7,514 times.