Wrotham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Wrotham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wrotham, Kent
Wrotham St George Kent.jpg
Wrotham St George Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wrotham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1784
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wrotham is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling District of Kent Wrotham Wikipedia

Wrotham St George is an Ancient Parish in the market town of Wrotham, The Ancient Parish originally included Plaxtol, Kent Borough Green and the detached portion of Woodlands, Kent A chapelry of this parish was formed at Platt, Kent (St Mary) where the church was built in 1841-1842 and formed into a parish in 1846. British listed building

The church of St George, High Street, Wrotham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 6-32 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See North West Kent Family History Society

Wrotham hundred was extensive see Edward Hasted descriptionThe History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 1 at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wrotham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Wrotham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1812
1559-1812
1558-1812
FS BTs 1813-1904 1813-1904 1813-1904
FS PRs 1756-1900 1754-1900; 1754-1812 (banns) 1813-1900

Nonconformists

International Genealogical Index

  • Borough Green Baptist 1818-1837 (Births) Batch (C091741)

Land Tax

Images for the Borough of Nepicar are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831 Nepicar borough is a part of the parish of Wrotham, and contains the hamlet of Nepicar.

Images for the Borough of Winfield are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831 ( Borough of Winfield in the Parish of Wrotham) Winfield borough is part of the parish of Wrotham.

Images for the Borough of Wrotham 1780-1830 are also available.

Plaxtol borough is part of the parish of Wrotham, and contains the parish and village of Plaxtol. See Plaxtol, Kent page for Land Tax image reference.



Census records

Census returns for Wrotham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WROTHAM (St. George), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Malling, hundred of Wrotham, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 11 miles (W. N. W.) from Maidstone, and 24 (S. E. by E.) from London. [6]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 698-703. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 21:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,864 times.