Wyandot County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Ohio
Wyandot County
Guide to Wyandot County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Wyandot County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Wyandot County Courthouse 109 S. Sandusky Ave. Upper Sandusky 43351-1497 |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Crawford, Hancock, Hardin and Marion Counties in 1845.
- County Seat: Upper Sandusky
- Neighboring Counties: Wyandot County, Ohioresidents may also have records in [1]Seneca (north) · Marion (south) · Hardin (southwest) · Hancock (northwest) · Crawford (east)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Wyandot County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyandot County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Catholic
- 1796–2004 Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection includes images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. These records are accessed by browsing the images by county. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Wyandot County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
- Baughman, A. J., Past and Present of Wyandot County, Ohio : A Record of Settlement, Organization, Progress and Achievement. Chicago : S. J. Clarke, 1913. FHL book 977.126 H2p v. 1-2
- Brinkerhoff, A.W. and Carol E. Swihart, Pioneer Life and History of Wyandot County, by A. W. Brinkerhoff : published in Wyandot County Republican Newspaper, Upper Sandusky, Ohio, 1871. Harpster, Ohio : C.E. Swihart, 1988. FHL book 977.126 H2s
- The History of Wyandot County, Ohio.Chicago :Leggett, Conaway, 1884. Digital copy at Google Books Internet Archive FamilySearch Books Online Ancestry ($)(Indexed) FHL film 1000351 Item 2; book 977.126 H2n 1884
- Ohio Genealogical Society. Wyandot Tracers Chapter, An Index to personal names in The History of Wyandot County, Ohio, 1884.FHL book 977.126 H2h index
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Finding Land Records at Other Repositories
Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyandot County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog(For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Maps
- Family Maps of Wyandot County, Ohio (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
- Civil War service men from Wyandot County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wyandot County.
- - 123rd Regiment, Ohio Infantry
- Company A
- Company F
- - Men from Wyandot County served in many other regiments, even those of other states, though usually only one or two in a company. For a list of these men by regiment, see History of Wyandot County, Ohio,[2] pages 472-479. Internet Archive.
- Baker, Scott.Civil War Soldiers Buried in Wyandot County, Ohio: War of the Rebellion, 1861-1865. ([Ohio] : Ohio Genealogical Society. Wyandot Tracers Chapter, 2000) FHL Book 977.126 V3b
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Wyandot County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Wyandot County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Wyandot County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
Finding Probate Records at Other Repositories
Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyandot County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Wyandot County Courthouse
County Courthouse
Upper Sandusky, OH 43351-
Phone: 419.294.1432
County Health Department has birth records 1845-1908;
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1845,
death and burial records 1845-1908; Clerk Court has divorce
and court records from 1845; County Recorder has land records
from 1845[4]
Family History Centers
FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FamilySearch Center for Wyandot County, Ohio is the
Clear Fork Ohio FamilySearch Center
Findlay Ohio FamilySearch Center
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyandot County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Wyandot County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Wyandot County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Wyandot County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Marriage
Death
Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased. Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyandot County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
References
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Wyandot County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyandot_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ History of Wyandot County, (Chicago: Leggett, Conaway and Co., 1884), page 472-479. Internet Archive.
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wyandot County, Ohio. Page 547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Ohio-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2013, at 20:34.
- This page has been accessed 2,152 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

