Wyandotte County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Wyandotte County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Wyandotte County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Wyandotte County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Wyandotte County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1859
County Seat Kansas City
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Wyandotte County Courthouse
9400 State Ave.
Kansas City, Kansas 66112
Phone: 913.573.2876



Contents

County Courthouse

Wyandotte County Courthouse
710 N 7th Street
Kansas City, KS 66112
Phone: 913.573.2800

City Clerk has birth and death records. Probate Judge has marriage and probate records
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1859--Wyandotte County was created 29 January 1859 from Leavenworth and Johnson Counties.
County seat: Kansas City [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Kswyandotte.jpg

Populated Places

Incorporated cities
Name and population (2012 U.S. Census estimate):
147,268 - Kansas City (county seat)
7,419 - Bonner Springs, of which about 0.5 square miles (1.3 km2) lies within Leavenworth County
4,377 - Edwardsville
928 - Lake Quivira, of which a quarter of the city lies within Wyandotte County, the majority being in Johnson County
Unincorporated places
Argentine, formerly a city, annexed by the city of Kansas City in 1910.
Armourdale, formerly a city, consolidated with the city of Kansas City in 1886.
Armstrong, a town absorbed by Wyandotte.
Piper, annexed by the city of Kansas City in 1991.
Rosedale, formerly a city, consolidated with the city of Kansas City in 1922.
Turner
Wyandotte, formerly a city, consolidated with the city of Kansas City in 1886.
Welborn

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery Index - Wyandotte County Historical Museum - Trowbridge Research Library [1]

BillionGraves:

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Kansas City

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wyandotte County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Wyandotte County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:

Military

During the Civil War men from this county enlisted in the 1st Regiment Kansas Infantry Volunteers, 1st Regiment Kansas Colored Troops, 2nd Regiment Kansas Infantry, 5th Regiment Kansas Cavalry, 6th Regiment Kansas Cavalry, 10th Regiment Kansas Infantry, 12th Regiment Kansas Cavalry,  15th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company E, and the16th Regiment Kansas Cavalry.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyandotte County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Wyandotte and click Probate records.

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Tax List for Wyandotte County - Wyandotte County Historical Museum - Trowbridge Research Library [2]

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers