Wybunbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Wybunbury, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wybunbury, Cheshire
Wybunbury St Chad Cheshire.jpg
Wybunbury St Chad Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WYBUNBURY (St. Chad), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, South division of the county of Chester; it is 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Nantwich. The parish consists of the townships of Basford, Batherton, Blakenhall, Bridgemere, Checkley with Wrinehill, Chorlton, Doddington, Hatherton, Hough, Hunsterson, Lea, Rope, Shavington with Gresty, Stapeley, Walgherton, Weston, Wybunbury, and part of Willaston.[1]

WYBUNBURY Wybunbury (pronounced Wi-ben-bree) was a township in Wybunbury Parish, Nantwich Hundred  and included the hamlets of Blakelow (part), Clannor Heath, Daisy Hill, The Flag, Haymoor Green (part), Howbeck Bank (part) and Pinfold.

Wybunbury, St. Chad was an ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Basford, Batherton, Blakenhall, Bridgemere, Checkley cum Wrinehill, Chorlton (near Crewe), Doddington, Hatherton, Hough, Hunsterson, Lea (near Crewe), Rope, Shavington cum Gresty, Stapeley, Walgherton, Weston (near Crewe), Willaston (part) and Wybunbury. 

The leaning tower of the former church of St Chad, also known as the 'Leaning Tower of South Cheshire' and the 'Hanging Steeple of Wimberie', is located in Wybunbury village. The 29.3 m tower is all that remains of a late fifteenth century church demolished in 1833. (Later churches, replacing the fifteenth century one, were also demolished in 1892 and 1977.) The tower was stabilised using underexcavation by James Trubshaw in 1832; this is the earliest known application of the technique, which was also used to stabilise the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

The parish also includes the lowland raised bog of Wybunbury Moss, a National Nature Reserve and Site of Special Scientific Interest. The bog is the setting for the children's book, Nellie Longarms Will Get You... If You Don't Watch Out, by John Bailey and Rose Quigley.

Wybunbury is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village lies 3¼ miles to the south east of Nantwich and 3¾ miles to the south of Crewe. The parish also includes the settlements of Clannor Heath, Daisy Hill, The Flag, Pinfold and parts of Blakelow, Haymoor Green and Howbeck Bank. Nearby villages include Hough, Shavington, Stapeley and Walgherton. The A51 runs east–west through the south-western corner of the parish.

Online here

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241248.

Church records

Wybunbury St Chad parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Wybunbury St Chad Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1796-1801, 1851-1854, 1860-1883, 1886
1851-1872, 1885-1906

CPR 1558-1871
1558-1871
1558-1871
FS PR's 1558-1909
  NONE
1558-1934
  NONE
1558-1962
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1886   NONE
1600-1872
  NONE
1600-1889
  NONE
JOIN
1558-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers of Baptisms 1558–1970, Marriages 1558–1973 and Burials 1558–1962 have been deposited at the Record Office. The registers have been transcribed as part of the Cheshire Parish Registers Project.

Parish registers for Wybunbury Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office no.: P37/1/1-3, P37/2/1-8, P37/3/1-9, P37/4/1-4, P37/6/1-7, P37/7/1, P37/28.

Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1655, 1653-1700. FHL BRITISH Film 2068758 Items 4 - 5
Marriages, 1700-1754; baptisms, 1700-1772. FHL BRITISH Film 2298978 Item 13
Baptisms, 1772-1779; burials, 1700-1779. Baptisms, burials, 1779-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 2298979 Items 1 - 2
Banns, 1802-1915 (marriage date listed on banns, 1885-1915). Draft registers baptisms and burials, 1786-1801. Grave register, 1807-1875. FHL BRITISH Film 1656806 Items 2 - 7
Baptisms, 1813-Sep. 1917. FHL BRITISH Film 2068773
Baptisms, Apr. 1917-1957. Marriages, 1754-Dec. 1869. FHL BRITISH Film 2068774
Marriages, Oct. 1869-1947. FHL BRITISH Film 2068775
Burials, 1813-Apr. 1951. FHL BRITISH Film 2068776
Burials, Feb. 1951-1962. FHL BRITISH Film 2068777 Item 1

An index of Cheshire Parish registers is available at FamilySearch Historical Records.
Bishop's transcripts Wybunbury  Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.
Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/232

Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1604, 1607-1609, 1611-1619, 1622-1625, 1627-1634, 1636-1640, 1658-1687, 1689, 1688, 1690-1749, 1751, 1750-1755. FHL BRITISH Film 1850126
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1756-1821. FHL BRITISH Film 1850127
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1850. FHL BRITISH Film 1850128
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1851-1855, 1857, 1856, 1858-1872, baptisms, burials, 1873-1880, baptisms, 1881-1883, 1886. FHL BRITISH Film 1850129

An index of Cheshire Bishop's transcripts is available at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wybunbury, Wesley Place Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1817, rebuilt in 1831, 1864. Registers of marriages 1925–1969 are at the Record Office.

National Archive : Wesley Place Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Weston (Wybunbury): register of baptisms, accounts, financial statements, correspondence relative to closure and sale of church building 1887-2003 (EMS 283)

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Nantwich (1837–1937)
Crewe (1937–74)
Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
South Cheshire (1988–98)
Cheshire Central (post 1998) The post 2009 reorganisation of civil registration can be found online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Nantwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wybunbury on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51434#s15 A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 15 January 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,491 times.