Wychnor, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wychnor, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Burton upon Trent PLU|
|Registration District||Burton upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1731|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
WICHNOR, a township-chapelry in Tatenhill parish, Stafford; on the river Trent, the Grand Trunk canal, Icknield-street, and the Derby and Dudley railway, at the junction of the line to Tamworth, 5½ miles NE of Lichfield. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Wychnor St Leonard formed 1792 formerly a chapel in Tatenhill, Staffordshire
Wychnor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|WYCHNOR PARISH Online Records|
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1731-1893 Mar 1731-1893 (partially BT's) Bur 1731-1989
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1864 Mar 1660-1828 Bur 1660-1864
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Wychnor, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.
Poor Law Union
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales st=Wychnor
- ↑ 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
- ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
- ↑ Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2015, at 17:33.
- This page has been accessed 1,868 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News