Wye, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Wye, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Wye, Kent
Wye St Gregory & St Martin Kent.jpg
Wye St Gregory & St Martin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wye
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford PLU
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wye is a village and within the civil parish of Wye with Hinxhill in the Ashford district of Kent. Wye Kent Wikipedia

Wye St Gregory and Saint Martin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury. See also Wye benefice website

The church of St Mary Goodcheap Lane Wye has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The Parish Church of St Gregory and Saint Martin, Church Street, has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Kent Archaeological Trust Architectural and historical information about the parish church

history of Wye

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 340-368 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Wye Methodist Church, Bridge Street, Wye is part of  South Kent Methodist Circuit Church website

Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wye, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[5]
Wye, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1912 1538-1912 1730-1837; 1754-1919 (Banns) 1730-1837; 1754-1919 (Banns) 1538-1901 1538-1901
MIDK 1754-1911

Parish registers for Wye, 1538-1925

Parish register originals deposited Canterbury Cathedral Archives nos.: U3/174/1/A1-A4, B1-B4, C1-C4, D1-D5, E1-E3.

Archdeacon's transcripts, 1563-1813; Bishop's transcripts, 1603-1903

St Gregory and St Martin original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives. Some early pages damaged. Nos.: DCa/BT/217; DCb/BT1/269; DCb/BT2/341

Land Tax

Images for Wye are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

See also images for Borough of Bewbridge Bewbridge borough is part of the parish of Wye.

See also images for Borough of Brensford. Brensford borough is part of the parish of Wye.
See also images for Borough of Town1780-1831. Town borough may refer to the town of Wye. This series of images are for Wye, Town Borough, division of Ashford and refer to Coombe and Little Coombe within the parish.

Crundale, Kent is a parish contiguous with Wye.

Census records

Census returns for Wye 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901


Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator’s schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant hips and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator’s schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Find my Past 1911 census search

Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WYE (St. Martin and St. Gregory), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of East Ashford, hundred of Wye, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 56 miles (E. S. E.) from London. [6]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  6. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 698-703. Date accessed 08 May 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 21:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,721 times.