Wyke Champflower, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Wyke Champflower, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wyke Champflower, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bruton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wincanton PLU
Registration District Wincanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1746
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WYKE-CHAMPFLOWER, a chapelry, in the parish and hundred of Bruton, union of Wincanton, E. division of Somerset, 1½ mile (W.) from Bruton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wyke Champflower, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
WYKE CHAMPFLOWER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1625-1912
1840-1900
1625-1812, 1821-1912
SOPC
1840-1881
1821-1911


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/WykeChampflower/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 09 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  4. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 August 2014, at 21:13.
  • This page has been accessed 729 times.