Wykeham, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wykeham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Scarborough PLU|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
WYKEHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Scarborough, Pickering lythe, N. riding of York, 6½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Scarborough; containing,with the village of Ruston, and the township of Longdale-End, 597 inhabitants.  Wykeham was an Ancient Parish in North Yorkshire which included Ruston and Langdale End. Wykeham is a small village and civil parish on the outskirts of Scarborough and in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire.
See also Wykeham Scarborough Wikipedia
Wykeham All Saints Church which dates from 1853-1855 has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building.
A Methodist church at Rushton and Wesleyan Methodist church at Langdale End were within the Ancient Parish boundary. Langdale End is in the civil parish of Darncombe cum Langdale End Wikipedia
Wykeham should not be confused with the settlement of the same name in Old Malton, Yorkshire Ancient Parish
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Wykeham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|WYKEHAM PARISH (1653) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464235.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 703-707. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2015, at 15:54.
- This page has been accessed 1,681 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News