Wyoming County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Wyoming County
Wyoming County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
- This article is about the county in northeastern Pennsylvania. For other uses, see Wyoming (disambiguation).
| Wyoming County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | April 4, 1842 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Tunkhannock | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Wyoming County Courthouse 1 Courthouse Square Tunkhannock, PA 18657 Wyoming County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Wyoming County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Luzerne County 4 April 1842. [1]
- County Seat: Tunkhannock
- Neighboring Counties: Wyoming County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Susquehanna (north) • Luzerne (south) • Sullivan (west) • Lackawanna (east) • Bradford (northwest)
Boundary Changes
- 1752-1772: Northampton County - The future Wyoming County was included in Northampton County until Northumberland County was created in 1772.
- 1772-1786: Northumberland County - The future Wyoming County was included in Northumberland County until Luzerne County was created in 1786
- 1786-1842: Luzerne County
Wyoming County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Findagrave.com | ||
| Interment.net | ||
| USGenWeb | ||
| Pennsylvania Genealogy | ||
| Pennsylvania Gravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| Names in Stone | ||
| Access Genealogy | ||
| Ancestry($) | ||
| |
|
|
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census
For tips on accessing Wyoming County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.
Additional church records can be located at Linkpendium and by searching the Family History Library Catalog. The FHLC has a plethora ofchurch recordsfor Wyoming County, many are limited in the time framethey cover. When searching the FHL catalog, be sure to also search at the town and township level.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyoming County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
Presbyterian
Presbyterian Church, Braintrim-Windham
- 1819-1841 - Presbyterian Church, Braintrim-Windham, Baptism Index 1819-1841 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C524111 and C516181.[3]
Presbyterian Church, Meshoppen
- 1853-1875 - Presbyterian Church, Meshoppen, Baptism Index 1853-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C535201.[3]
- 1869-1885 - Presbyterian Church, Meshoppen, Baptism Index 1869-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M535201.[3]
Presbyterian Church, Northmoreland Township
- 1821-1872 - Presbyterian Church, Northmoreland Township, Baptism Index 1821-1872 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C523741.[3]
Court Records
Wyoming County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Wyoming County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters.
The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Wyoming County, Pennsylvania shares its judicial district with Sullivan County. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[4]
Clerk of the Courts
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[5] For the Wyoming County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Wyoming County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphans' Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[6]
For Wyoming County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
- ’’’1843–1866’’’ Orphans Court Docket FHL film 947854
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyoming County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Published Histories
Land and Property
Land records in Wyoming County began in 1842. These records are filed with the Register of Wills and Recorder of Deeds office in Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- 1842–present The Register of Wills and Recorder of Deeds office offers online access to land records through Record Fusion. The online indexes are free but fees apply for copies.
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1842–1916 Deeds, 1842-1866; Indexes, 1842-1916. FHL films 947406-947412
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyoming County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free, downloadable images of the 1869 Topographical Map of Wyoming Co. Pennsylvania from Recent and Actual Surveys and Records, under the Superintendence of F.W. Beers (New York). This wall map located in the Library of Congress shows major landowners and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not be used commercially. We hereby given permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Wyoming County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1901-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. Circuit and District Courts for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 1906-1930; and 1901-1906 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. Circuit and District Courts for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 1906-1930; and 1901-1906 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 - Middle District, US Circuit and District Courts: Naturalization petitions, 1906-1930 located in U.S. Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1795-1972 (World Archives Project) database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 - Middle District, US Circuit and District Courts: Naturalization petitions, 1906-1930 located in U.S. Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1795-1972 (World Archives Project) database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1843-1916 - Naturalization dockets, 1843-1916, FHL film 947867
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyoming County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Wyoming County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Wyoming County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Wyoming County, Pennsylvania.
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Wyoming County, Pennsylvania.
Occupations
Indentured Servants
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Wyoming County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Records
Though original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available online, at this time Wyoming records are not located with the records. You may want to check the digital images at FamilySearch.org to see if Wyoming County has been added.
- 1842–Present Deeds Index and records. The deed records are primarily used for probate records. They will help to determine what happens to the land after someone dies. This online search is available to access the records that are available in their office. You will need to register and their is a charge.
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1842–1908 Wills, includes index, 1842–1938 FHL film 947413–947418
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wyoming County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Wyoming County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square
Tunkhannock, PA 18657
- Prothonotary, Clerk of Courts, Clerk of Orphans Court
Phone: 570-996-2232 - Register of Wills and Recorder of Deeds
Phone: 570-996-2235
- Hours for both: Monday through Friday 8:30–4:00
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Wyoming County, Pennsylvania is the Scranton Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
Wyoming County Genealogical Library
3 W Harrison St.
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 309
Tunkhannock, PA 18657-03209
570-835-5303
Hours:
All year: Wednesday 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM
1st and 3rd Saturday 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Apr. 15 to Oct. 15: Tuesday 10:00 to 4:00 PM
The Library is run by the Wyoming County Historical Society. They have a great collection of cemetery records. Beside records for the Wyoming area, they have numerous books on New England ancestry.
Tunkhannock Public Libary
220 West Tioga St.
Tunkhannock, PA 18657
570-869-1677
Museums
Wyoming County Historical Museum
Harrison St. and Bridge St.
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 309
Tunkhannock, PA 18657-03209
570-835-5303
Hours: May 15 to Oct 15 by appointments. The Museum is run by the Historical Society. They have items from Wyoming County and the surrounding area. Military artifacts from Civil War as well as World War I and II. They have a collection from the Indians in the area.
Societies
Rich in history, Wyoming County contain a few societies dealing with the story of the area.
The Wyoming County Historical Society is located at:
2 W Harrison St.
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 309
Tunkhannock, PA 18657
Phone: (570) 836-5303
Email: society@epix.net
- The library holdings include, vital records, cemetery records with surrounding counties, genealogies, surname index cards. The museum and genealogical library are open to visitors on Wednesdays, 1st and 3rd Saturdays, and from April 15 to October 15 Tuesdays.
- They publish a newsletter semi-annually called Lest We Forget. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL films 2406013 (first of 2 films), book 974.835 H25L.
- They have newspaper abstracts from numerous papers papers available for scanning from there site.
Genealogical Research Society of Northeastern Pennsylvania, Inc. (GRSNP)
110 Main Street
Peckville, PA 18452
Phone: 570-383-7661
FAX: 570-383-7466
E-mail: info@grsnp.org
- Hours: Monday through Thursday 9:00–2:00 and Wednesday night 6:00 pm–900 pm and Saturday by appointment
- A simple search of a dated name or event $20 - Detailed searches are at the rate of $40 an hour. Postage and photocopies up to $1 are included.[7]
The GRSNP serves northeastern counties:
- Lackawanna
- Luzerne
- Monroe
- Pike
- Susquehanna
- Wayne
- Wyoming
There resources include the research center and library, newsletters, and database queries.[8]
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
- 1819–1930 – Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709–1950 – free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
The county records for births are available from the Clerk of Orphans Court. The dates they cover are from 1893 to 1906.
Marriage
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Wyoming County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1854–1976 – Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709–1940 – free index. Not complete for all years.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. Most of the records consist of marriage licenses, certificates, applications, docket books, and affidavits. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
The marriage records at the county are from 1885 to the present. You may request a copy from:
Wyoming County Clerk
1 Court House Square
Tunkhannock, PA 18657
Phone: 570-996-2232
Hours: Monday to Friday 8:30 AM–4:00 PM
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1893-1906 The county records for deaths are available from the Clerk of Orphans Court.
- 1893-1904 - Wyoming County Death Index 1893-1904 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Wyoming County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project.Wyoming County. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Wyoming County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Wyoming County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/2/20/Igipennsylvaniat.pdf.
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ accessed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ http://www.grsnp.org/Research_Services_and_Center.php
- ↑ http://www.grsnp.org/Home_Page.php
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 16:14.
- This page has been accessed 2,229 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




