Wyresdale, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Wyresdale, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wyresdale, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

WYERSDALE, OVER, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 6 miles (N. N.E.) from Garstang. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Over Wyresdale chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lancaster to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


OVER-WYRESDALE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1724) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1715-1880 1818, 1856-1867 1813-1880
LOPC 1723-1813 None 1725-1741
FMP  None None None
LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes (ancient parish containing Over Wyresdale)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1886 1599-1812  None
LOPC 1749-1900 1599-1900 1749-1881
FMP  None 1539-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-1998 None 
AC 1559-1748 1559-1748 1559-1748


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Over Wyresdale and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lancaster to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LANCASTER ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 698-703. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,384 times.