Yalding, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Yalding, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Yalding, Kent
Yalding St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Yalding St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Twyford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone PLU
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Collier Street beginning 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

YALDING (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Maidstone, hundred of Twyford, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 6 miles (S. W.) from Maidstone.[1]

Resources

Church records

Yalding, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Yalding, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1716-1763, 1782-1784, 1813-1880 (gaps)
1716-1837 (gaps)

FMP 1559-1900
1559-1899
1559-1900
FS BTs 1716-1784, 1813-1880 1716-1784, 1813-1880 1716-1784, 1813-1880
IGI 1716-1762, 1782-1784
NBI

1559-1579

Maps

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [ http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51436#s4 A Topographical Dictionary of England], (1848). Date accessed: 16 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:30.
  • This page has been accessed 3,160 times.