Yarm, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yarm

Guide to Yarm, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  
Yarm, Yorkshire
Yarm St Mary Magdalene Yorkshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Stockton PLU
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1649; For more records see Kirk Levington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Yarm was a chapelry of  Kirk Levington Ancient Parish in Yorkshire. St Mary Magdalene is the third church to occupy the site and a Georgian replacement for the Norman Church destroyed by fire. Nothing remains of the wooden Saxon predecessor. The rebuilt church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Yarm is a small town and civil parish in the borough of Stockton on Tees North Yorkshire see Yarm Wikipedia and

YARM (St. Mary Magdalene), a market-town and parish, in the union of Stockton-on-Tees, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 44miles (N. N. W.) from York, and 238 (N. by W.)from London [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Yarm exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
YARM CHAPELRY (1546) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1751-1874

1716-1866, 1881

1730, 1800, 1816, 1826

JOIN None

1546-1841

None

AC None

None

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Kirk Levington and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirk Levington to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRK LEVINGTON PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.

Church of England records began in date. Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 707-716. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 October 2014, at 23:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,451 times.